PDA

View Full Version : Botting: A how-to safety guide

EzMaN
12-01-10, 01:44 PM
I've been botting for many years, far back before WoW was around; from simple self-made Auto-it scripts, all the way up to recent toys like glider and honorbuddy. While the tools change, the rules of botting stay the same. With many bans under my belt, I've developed a simple list of rules to follow that'll dramatically increase your chances of botting survival. Following these simple rules should keep you unbanned, and botting to eternity.

Rule 1: Never bot nonstop.
This is especially true in games like WoW; people cross the same areas often while leveling/grinding, and they WILL notice you. Bot for 8 hours max.

Rule 2: Don't bot the same area/mobs.
Sitting in one place killing the same mobs for 8 hours every night will get easily reported. Vary your grinding areas and mobs.

Rule 3: Talk while botting.
Talking and responding in chat for the first few minutes of your botting can be essential to keeping yourself safe. Easy topics to bring up are music while grinding, youtube while grinding, and watching movies on a second monitor. While it may not seem like much, if a person happens across you, they wont immediately think "OMG bot!" - Often times they'll have your previous chat in the back of their mind and not automatically assume you're not at your computer.

Rule 4: Don't use public profiles.
GMs/players will easily catch onto people grinding the same exact paths/mobs. You'll end up as another "xxx mob bot" and be reported as soon as someone sees you.

Rule 5: If you see an awesome botting area on this site, or any site, don't use it.